Jurgen Klopp named LMA Manager of the Year

Jurgen Klopp - LMA Manager of the Year

Former United manager Ferguson praised Klopp for ending Liverpool’s 30-year wait for league glory when announcing the winner on Monday.

“Jurgen, fantastic. We speak about Leeds spending 16 years in the Championship, but Liverpool 30 years since winning that league, incredible,” said Ferguson.

“You thoroughly deserved it, but the performance level of your team was outstanding. Your personality runs right throughout the whole club. It was a marvellous performance.

Manager of the Year2

Liverpool rounded off am impressive title-winning campaign with a 3-1 victory at Newcastle on Sunday to set a new club record of 99 points.

“I’m absolutely delighted to get this wonderful trophy, it’s really wonderful,” Klopp told Sky Sports News. “I saw who won it before, some really big, big Liverpool names involved – not only Liverpool names – like Bill Shankly I think, Bob Paisley, Joe Fagan and Kenny [Dalglish] whose name seems to be all over the trophy.

“But the name on this is Sir Alex Ferguson’s and I know it’s not 100 per cent appropriate as Liverpool manager but I admire him, not to say I love him.

“I wouldn’t have thought one day I would be holding a trophy in my hands that was named after him.”

Manager of the Year3

Klopp won the award ahead of Leeds manager Marcelo Bielsa, Wycombe manager Gareth Ainsworth and last season’s winner Chris Wilder of Sheffield United.

Bielsa won the Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year award after Leeds final ended their 16-year Premier League absence when winning the second division title.

Chelsea’s Emma Hayes was named Barclays FA Women’s Super League Manager of the Year

SOURCE: Eurosport